The modest Coachman's House was constructed in 1901 by the Scott family, who owned Morven Park from 1901 to 1903. The coachman who resided here would have been responsible for leading the horse and coach of the owners or their visitors from the front steps of the mansion to the barn and stables of the adjacent structure. The house is positioned in such a way that the coachman could hear and see all arrivals. Today this house serves as a unique ready room for bridal parties. For more information on Morven Park weddings, visit MorvenPark.org/weddings.
Coach House Complex
The Coach House Complex is composed of a stone barn, a carriage house, and four wood-frame towers arranged around a courtyard. The stone barn is the oldest section of the complex, dating back to approximately 1820. The barn remained in continuous use until Westmoreland Davis's death in 1942. Today it functions as a rustic and charming event space for corporate gatherings and educational programs. The long, low building across the courtyard from the stone barn is referred to as the Vaughan Room or the Board Room. It was originally constructed to house carriages and was eventually converted into an automobile garage. Today it is used as a meeting room for staff and trustees and for corporate rentals. The four wood towers, built around 1861, served as horse stables and tack rooms. In the northeast tower, stables constructed in 1901 currently provide a unique office space for the Morven Park Center for Civic Impact team. Morven Park’s administrative offices are also housed here. The Coach House Complex can be rented for meetings, special events, and weddings. Click here for more information on renting the space.